Tap to pay for UAE restaurants: phone or card machine
Yes, UAE restaurants can take tap to pay on a phone. Apple launched Tap to Pay on iPhone in the UAE in December 2024, and Geidea lists tap-to-pay on Android phones. A phone suits terraces, events and queues. A card machine still suits the main till. This guide compares both, with 8 payment partners.
Tap to pay vs contactless: what the words mean
Contactless is how the customer pays: a card, phone or watch held near a reader. Tap to pay, on the merchant side, means that reader is your own phone. Apple calls it Tap to Pay on iPhone. Visa calls it Tap to Phone. Some providers call it SoftPOS.
The customer's tap looks the same in every case. The hardware on your side is what changes.
Apple Pay is a separate thing. It is a wallet the customer pays with. Tap to Pay on iPhone is what the restaurant accepts payment on, and it takes Apple Pay along with contactless cards and other digital wallets.
Is tap to pay available in the UAE?
Yes. Apple launched Tap to Pay on iPhone in the UAE in December 2024. You need an iPhone Xs or later, the latest iOS and a supported payment app. No additional hardware is needed. It accepts contactless credit and debit cards, Apple Pay and other digital wallets.
You don't sign up with Apple. Apple says payments are processed by your payment service provider, and payment apps have to integrate with a supported provider first. Its countries and regions page lists four payment platforms under the United Arab Emirates. That page is written for app developers, so ask any app you are considering which platform it runs on.
On Android, Visa says sellers can accept payments on current-generation Android devices by downloading an app, with no additional hardware. Its page doesn't say which UAE providers offer this. Geidea lists tap-to-pay on Android phones.
Phone, card machine or QR code compared
| Tap to pay on a phone | Card machine | QR scan to pay | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hardware | Your iPhone or Android phone | A terminal from your provider | A code the guest scans with their own phone |
| What it takes | Contactless cards and wallets | Contactless, plus inserted cards with a PIN | Depends on the provider |
| PIN | Entered on your phone's screen | Entered on the terminal | Depends on the provider |
| Best for | Terraces, events, food trucks, queues, backup | The main till and every busy service | Settling at the table without waiting for staff |
| Listed options | Geidea, PayTabs, Ziina | Fortis, Geidea | Foodics, PayTabs, Telr |
Payment partners compared
| Provider | What its profile lists | Tap to pay on a phone | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adyen | Online, in-store and mobile payments on one platform | Not stated on its profile, so check Apple's list | Interchange++ pricing, no setup or monthly fees |
| Foodics | Cloud POS with Foodics Pay | Not stated | QR pay-at-table and bill splitting |
| Fortis | POS on your existing card terminal | Not stated | QR and NFC contactless payments on the terminal |
| Geidea | Countertop and mobile POS terminals | Android phones | Licensed by the Central Bank of the UAE |
| Network International | In-store and online payment acceptance | Not stated on its profile, so check Apple's list | Fraud protection and data analytics |
| PayTabs | SoftPOS card acceptance | Yes, phone type not stated | Scan-to-pay at the table |
| Telr | Online payment gateway | Not stated | QR payments in-store and at delivery |
| Ziina | Apple Pay, Google Pay and cards | iPhone | Sign up with Emirates ID |
None of these profiles publishes a tap-to-pay rate, so you will need a quote.
What happens above the no-PIN limit
The UAE has no single figure you can rely on. Visa said in 2020 that the UAE Central Bank had raised the contactless limit to AED 500 from AED 300. Banks now publish their own numbers. Arab Bank gives a maximum of AED 5,000. Commercial Bank International gives AED 100 on its contactless page.
So plan for a PIN on any bill. On Tap to Pay on iPhone, the guest enters it on your phone's screen, and Apple says the PIN is never available to the merchant on the device. Staff hand the phone over and step back. Apple also builds in accessibility options for guests who need help entering a PIN.
Apple adds a warning for offline PIN markets: some cards can't complete a contactless payment with a PIN, and you ask for another card or wallet. We don't know whether this affects UAE cards, so test it. Phones in this category are also covered by a security standard from the PCI Security Standards Council, which includes PIN and contactless entry on the same device. Ask your provider whether its app is approved under it.
Does tap to pay work without internet?
Sometimes. On iOS 18.4 or later, Tap to Pay on iPhone can accept transactions without connectivity, through a feature called Store and Forward. Your provider has to support it, so ask.
PIN entry isn't supported in that mode. A large bill on a terrace with bad signal may fail for that reason. Ask who carries the loss if a stored payment is later declined. We couldn't find the equivalent rules for Android, so get those from your provider.
What about scan to pay and Aani?
Scan to pay moves the work to the guest's phone. Foodics offers QR pay-at-table and bill splitting, PayTabs offers scan-to-pay at the table, and Telr offers QR payments in-store and at delivery.
Aani, run by Al Etihad Payments, offers real-time transfers using mobile numbers, email addresses or QR codes. In early 2025 it said QR payments for small businesses were coming soon. We don't know how many restaurants can accept them today, so ask your provider.
What to check before you switch on tap to pay
- The licence. Under UAE rules, no entity can provide or promote a listed retail payment service without a Central Bank licence. Merchant acquiring is on that list. Geidea and Ziina state they are licensed by the Central Bank. Adyen states it holds a UAE banking licence. Check that the licensed entity is the one on your contract.
- Supported phones. Get the list of models in writing. Decide whether staff use their own phones or restaurant phones.
- Card brands. Apple tells merchants to ask their payment app provider which contactless card brands they can accept. Ask about every brand your guests carry.
- Transaction limits. Apple says transaction limits may apply. Ask for the maximum per sale.
- Rate and settlement. Compare the rate and settlement time against your card machine. Foodics Pay offers daily settlement. Adyen lets you choose settlement timing.
- POS link. Ask whether a tap closes the bill in your POS. If it doesn't, staff enter every sale twice and your reports won't match.
- Tips and refunds. Ask how tips reach your reports, and whether staff can refund from the phone.
- A live test. Run real cards on the terrace, at peak, before you rely on it.
When a phone makes sense in a restaurant
A phone works best as a second way to take payment. Use it on terraces, at pop-ups and events, in food trucks and for queue-busting at the counter. It also gives you a backup when a terminal fails.
Keep a card machine at the main till. It takes inserted cards, which a tap-only phone can't. Ziina suits a small operator who wants to start on an iPhone. Fortis suits one who would rather run the whole POS on a card machine.
Frequently asked questions
Does Dubai have tap to pay for businesses?
Yes. Apple launched Tap to Pay on iPhone in the UAE in December 2024, so it applies in Dubai. A business needs an iPhone Xs or later, the latest iOS and a supported payment app from a payment provider. No card machine is needed for contactless payments.
What is the difference between tap to pay and contactless?
Contactless describes how the customer pays: a card, phone or watch held near a reader. Tap to pay, on the merchant side, means that reader is your own phone, with no separate terminal. The customer's action is the same. Only the hardware on the restaurant's side changes.
Can I accept tap to pay on an Android phone in the UAE?
Yes, through some providers. Geidea lists tap-to-pay on Android phones, and PayTabs lists SoftPOS card acceptance without naming a phone type. Visa says current-generation Android devices can take payments with an app and no extra hardware. Ask each provider for its list of supported phone models.
What is the difference between tap to pay and Apple Pay?
Apple Pay is a wallet the customer pays with. Tap to Pay on iPhone is what the merchant uses to accept payment, and it takes Apple Pay, contactless debit and credit cards, and other digital wallets. A guest doesn't need an iPhone to pay this way.
Can a customer enter a PIN on my phone?
On Tap to Pay on iPhone, yes. The customer enters the PIN on the phone's screen, and Apple says the PIN is never available to the merchant on the device. PIN entry isn't supported in offline Store and Forward mode, so keep a card machine for those moments.
Sources
- Apple Newsroom: Tap to Pay on iPhone launches in the UAE
- Apple Developer: Tap to Pay on iPhone countries and regions
- Apple Developer: Tap to Pay on iPhone
- Apple Developer: how to accept payments
- Apple: Tap to Pay on iPhone for business
- Apple Support: Tap to Pay on iPhone FAQ
- Apple Support: Tap to Pay on iPhone security
- Visa: Tap to Phone
- Visa press release on the UAE contactless limit, via Zawya
- Arab Bank: contactless payment feature
- Commercial Bank International: contactless cards
- PCI Security Standards Council: PCI Mobile Payments on COTS
- Pinsent Masons: UAE licensing regime for payment service providers
- Al Etihad Payments: Aani signs up 1.5 million users
- Partner details: each company's own website, linked from its Run The Shift profile.
Last updated: 4 November 2026. Partner details come from each company's own website, summarised on its Run The Shift profile. Partners are listed in alphabetical order. Some partners sponsor Run The Shift, and that does not change where or how they appear in this guide. Spotted something out of date? Use the claim link on the partner's profile.